欢笑着走在大街上的学生们

国际学生在卡迪夫生活

难忘的学生体验

卡迪夫是理想的学习之地。这座友好的城市拥有迷人的风光和丰富多彩的活动,我们的学生联合会让您有众多机会结交与您兴趣相投的朋友。

在威尔士繁华的首府城市生活

卡迪夫是一座蓬勃发展的现代化都市,拥有非凡的艺术和音乐场所,以及众多国际餐厅和各类大型商店。卡迪夫拥有紧凑的城市形态,大多数学生住在距离市区只有 10 分钟步行路程的区域。您会很快融入这里的环境,体验到家的温暖。

市中心有一些美丽的建筑,它们的历史可以追溯到 12 世纪。卡迪夫著名的老商场里设有很多独立的小店和咖啡馆。卡迪夫城堡和附近的科赫城堡 (Castell Coch) 都值得一游。在卡迪夫国家博物馆或附近的圣法根国家历史博物馆 (St Fagans National Museum of History) 探索威尔士文化,重回过去,欣赏威尔士过去 800 年的历史建筑。

公园是卡迪夫的一大特色。美丽的布特公园 (Bute Park) 距离大学仅 5 分钟步行路程,是一个适合跑步、阅读或与朋友放松的宁静之地。从市中心乘火车到卡迪夫海湾只需五分钟,在阳光明媚的日子里,您可以到海滨餐厅享用美食,也可以穿过河堤,漫步走到风景迷人的珀纳斯 (Penarth) 小镇。

卓越的国际社区

这里非常欢迎国际学生。卡迪夫是英国最早的多元文化城市之一,城里居民使用的语言大约有 94 种。卡迪夫的清真寺、犹太教堂、教堂和寺庙随处可见,尊重任何人士的信仰。走在城市中,您会听到世界各地的语言。威尔士语是欧洲现存最古老的语言之一,卡迪夫大约有 10% 的人口会使用这种语言,但人人都会说英语。

世界级体育赛事

卡迪夫经常举办各种广受欢迎的体育赛事。2019 年,仅有 300 万人口的威尔士是世界排名第一的橄榄球队的所在地。橄榄球是一项全民运动,在比赛日,您可以到市中心标志性的公国体育场周围享受比赛的气氛。卡迪夫城足球俱乐部吸引着世界各地的足球运动员慕名前来,而卡迪夫魔鬼 (Cardiff Devils) 冰球队也来自卡迪夫,是英国精英冰球联盟 (British Elite Ice Hockey League) 的职业球队。

21 世纪的三名成功运动员也曾在卡迪夫的某所高中就读:国际足球运动员 Gareth Bale、前威尔士橄榄球队队长 Sam Warburton 和 2018 年环法自行车赛冠军 Geraint Thomas。

对学生而言,卡迪夫是英国境内生活成本最低的城市*

(NatWest 2022 年英国大学生生活指数)

*负担能力的计算方法是将学生每月的平均住宿、活动和物品费用除以其平均月收入。

Sara,来自巴林

在这座城市里,我最喜欢的地方就是布特公园,那里是个美好的地方,可以让我放下一切纷纷扰扰,尽情地享受大自然。这真是大自然的恩赐。

Sara,来自巴林
攻读医学工程学士学位

Students smiling and walking down high street

Living in Cardiff as an international student

An unforgettable student experience

Cardiff is an amazing place to be a student. There is so much to see and do in this friendly city, and the Students’ Union offers endless opportunities to meet people who share your interests.

Live in Wales’s buzzing capital city

Cardiff is a thriving modern city with a brilliant arts and music scene, as well as plenty of international restaurants and all the major high street shops. It is a compact city, and most students live only a 10-minute walk away from town. You’ll quickly be able to find your way around and feel at home here.

The city centre has some beautiful architecture, dating as far back as the twelfth century. Cardiff’s famous old arcades have a great selection of independent shops and cafés. Cardiff Castle and nearby Castell Coch are well worth a visit. Explore Welsh culture at the National Museum Cardiff or nearby St Fagans National Museum of History, where you can go back in time and see buildings from the last 800 years of Welsh history.

Parks are a big feature in Cardiff. The beautiful Bute Park is a 5-minute walk from the University and is a peaceful place for running, reading or chilling out with friends. Cardiff Bay is a five-minute train ride from the city centre and is a great place to go on a sunny day for food at one of the waterfront restaurants, or you can walk over the barrage to the pretty town of Penarth.

Strong international community

As an international student, you will feel welcome here. Cardiff was one of the UK’s first multicultural cities and an estimated 94 languages are spoken in the city. Many faiths are represented, and there are mosques, synagogues, churches and temples across Cardiff. You will hear international languages spoken as you walk around the city. Welsh — one of Europe’s oldest living languages — is spoken by 10% of Cardiff’s population, but everyone speaks English too.

World-class sport

There is a wealth of sports events in Cardiff, and all are welcome. In 2019, Wales — a country of only 3 million people — was home to the #1 rugby team in the world. Rugby is a national obsession, and on match days you can enjoy the atmosphere around the iconic Principality Stadium in the city centre. Cardiff City Football Club attracts international football players, and Cardiff is also home to the Cardiff Devils ice hockey team, which plays in the British Elite Ice Hockey League.

One of Cardiff’s high schools has produced three of the most successful sportspeople of the 21st century, international footballer Gareth Bale, ex-Wales rugby captain Sam Warburton and 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas.

Cardiff is the most affordable UK city for students*

(NatWest Student Living Index 2022)

*Affordability is calculated by dividing students’ average monthly accommodation, activities and item costs by their average monthly income.

Sara from Bahrain

My favourite part about the city is Bute Park is there and it's just really nice to be able to unplug and to forget about everything and just be out in nature. I feel it's such a privilege.

Sara from Bahrain
Studying BEng Medical Engineering

Find out what makes Cardiff a great place to live and study.